Scientists attending the workshop are a multidisciplinary group of international scholars with specialized research interests and strong working ties to research in the Turkana Basin.


  • Tesfaye Kidane Birke, Munich University
  • Frank Brown, University of Utah
  • Thure Cerling, University of Utah
  • Peter deMenocal, Columbia University
  • Craig Feibel, Rutgers University
  • Patrick Gathogo, Schlumberger/TerraTek
  • Andy Gleadow, University of Melbourne
  • Bereket Haileab, Carleton College
  • Tom Johnson, University of Minnesota, Duluth
  • Meave Leakey, Stony Brook University/TBI
  • Richard Leakey, Stony Brook University/TBI
  • Christopher Lepre, Columbia University/Rutgers University
  • Naomi Levin, Johns Hopkins University
  • Lawrence Martin, Stony Brook University/TBI
  • Ian McDougall, Australian National University
  • Chris Morley, PTT Exploration and Production
  • Raphael Pik, Centre de Recherches Petrographiques et Geochimiques
  • Troy Rasbury, Stony Brook University
  • Joe Sertich, Denver Museum of Nature and Science
  • Manfred Strecker, University of Potsdam
  • Hubert Vonhof, Free University of Amsterdam
  • Ron Watkins, Curtin University